Loading
Google Translate           
2019-2020 School Year Calendar
2019-2020 School Year Calendar

This memorandum confirms that the 2019-2020 school year calendars as outlined below have received formal approval from the Ministry of Education as follows:

  • That the York Region District School Board approve the following recommendations regarding the 2019-2020 School Year Calendar (Elementary Schools Calendar and Regular Secondary Schools Calendar).
  • That the school year for those locations operating on a regular schedule shall consist of 194 days with students commencing school on Tuesday, September 3, 2019 and include the following:e the following:
    • the designation of 187 Instructional Days commencing Tuesday, September 3, 2019 in the School Year Calendar 2019-2020;
    • the last school day for secondary students be Wednesday, June 24, 2020 and Thursday, June 25, 2020 for elementary students; and
    • the designation of seven Professional Activity Days in the School Year Calendar 2019-2020.
  • That Keswick High School, Sutton District High School, Maple High School and Markville Secondary School (Early Start Secondary Schools Calendar​) operate on a modified version of the regular schedule commencing school one week earlier than other schools on Monday, August 26, 2019 and taking a one-week mid-term break commencing Monday, October 28, 2019 to Friday, November 1, 2019.

  • That Bill Crothers Secondary School (Balanced School Year Calendar​) operate on a modified version of the regular schedule commencing school on Tuesday, August 6, 2019 and will have Thursday, August 29, 2019, Friday, August 30, 2019, Friday, October 11, 2019, Monday, October 28, 2019 through to Friday, November 1, 2019, Friday, December 6, 2019, and Monday, April 20, 2020 to Friday, April 24, 2020 as holidays.

That the school holid​​ays be as follows:

Labour Day Monday, September 2, 2019​
Thanksgiving Day Monday, October 14, 2019
Winter Break
Monday, December 23, 2019 to Friday, January 3,​ 2019
Family Day
Monday, February 17, 2020​
Mid-Winter Break
Monday, March 16, 2020 to Friday, March 20, 2020
Good Friday
Friday, April 10, 2020
Easter Monday Monday, April 13, 2020
​Victoria Day ​Monday, May 18, 2020


That the Professional Activit​y Days fo​r the 2019-2020 school year be as follows:

El​ementary

  1. Monday, September 23, 2019
  2. Monday, October 21, 2019
  3. Friday, November 15, 2019
  4. Friday, January 17, 2020
  5. Friday, January 31, 2020
  6. Monday, June 1, 2020
  7. Friday, June 26, 2020

Second​ary (Regular)

  1. Monday, September 23, 2019
  2. Monday, October 21, 2019
  3. Friday, November 15, 2019
  4. Friday, January 31, 2020
  5. Friday, May 1, 2020
  6. Thursday, June 25, 2020
  7. Friday, June 26, 2020

Secondary (Early St​art Schools – Keswick HS, Maple HS, Markville SS, Sutton DHS)

  1. Monday, September 23, 2019
  2. Monday, October 21, 2019
  3. Friday, November 15, 2019
  4. Friday, January 31, 2020
  5. Friday, May 1, 2020
  6. Thursday, June 25, 2020
  7. Friday, June 26, 2020

Secondary (Bill Crothers SS)

  1. Tuesday, August 6, 2019
  2. Monday, September 23, 2019
  3. Friday, November 15, 2019
  4. Friday, January 17, 2020
  5. Friday, May 1, 2020
  6. Thursday, June 18, 2020
  7. Friday, June 19, 2020

2018-201​9 School Year Calendar

This confirms that the 2018–2019 school year calendars as outlined below have received formal approval from the Ministry of Education as follows:​

  • ​That the York Region District School Board approve the following recommendations regarding the 2018-2019 School Year Calendar (Elementary Schools Calendar and Regular Secondary Schools Calendar).
  • That the school year for those locations operating on a regular schedule shall consist of 194 days with students commencing school on Tuesday, September 4, 2018 and include the following:

    • t​he designation of 187 Instructional Days commencing Tuesday, September 4, 2018 in the School Year Calendar 2018-2019;
    • the last s​chool day for secondary students be Wednesday, June 26, 2019 and Thursday, June 27, 2019 for elementary students; and
    • the design​​ation of seven Professional Activity Days in the School Year Calendar 2018- 2019.
  • That Keswick High School, Sutton District High School, Maple High School and Markville Secondary School (Early Start Secondary Schools Calendar) operate on a modified version of the regular schedule commencing school one week earlier than other schools on Monday, August 27, 2018 and taking a one-week mid-term break commencing Monday, October 29, 2018 to Friday, November 2, 2018.

  • That Bill Crothers Secondary School (Balanced School Year Calendar) operate on a modified version of the regular schedule commencing school on Tuesday, August 7, 2018 and will have Thursday, August 30, 2018, Friday, August 31, 2018, Friday, October 5, 2018, Monday, October 29, 2018 through to Friday, November 2, 2018, Friday, December 7, 2018, and Monday, April 8, 2019 to Friday, April 12, 2019 as holidays.

That the school holi​days be as follows:

Labour Day Monday, September 3, 2018
Thanksgiving Day Monday, October 8, 2018
Winter Break Monday, December 24, 2018 to Friday, January 4, 2019
Family Day Monday, February 18, 2019
Mid-Winter Break Monday, March 11, 2019 to Friday, March 15, 2019
Good Friday Friday, April 19, 2019
Easter Monday Monday, April 22, 2019
​Victoria Day ​Monday, May 20, 2019


That the Professional Activity Days fo​r the 2018-2019 school year be as follows:

Secondary (Regu​lar)

  1. Monday, September 24, 2018
  2. Monday, October 22, 2018
  3. Friday, November 23, 2018
  4. Friday, February 1, 2019
  5. Friday, May 3, 2019
  6. Thursday, June 27, 2019
  7. Friday, June 28, 2019

Secondary (Early Start Schools - Keswick HS, Maple HS, Markville SS, Sutton DHS)

  1. ​​​Monday, September 24, 2018
  2. Monday, October 22, 2018
  3. Friday, November 23, 2018
  4. Friday, February 1, 2019
  5. Friday, May 3, 2019
  6. Thursday, June 27, 2019
  7. Friday, June 28, 2019​ 

Secondary (Bill Crothers SS)

  1. Tu​esday, August 7, 2018
  2. Monday, September 24, 2018
  3. Friday, November 23, 2018
  4. Friday, January 18, 2019
  5. Friday, May 3, 2019
  6. Thursday, June 20, 2019
  7. Friday, June 21, 2019​ 

Elementary (Regular)

  1. Monday, September 24, 2018
  2. Monday, October 22, 2018
  3. Friday, November 23, 2018
  4. Friday, January 18, 2019
  5. Friday, February 1, 2019
  6. Monday, June 3, 2019
  7. Friday, June 28, 2019
​​​​
 
Share |
Connect With YRDSB!
York Region District School Board Twitter Feed
York Region District School Board YouTube Channel
York Region District School Board Linkedin
YRDSB Mobile App
Privacy Policy / Copyright / Disclaimer

© York Region District School Board. All Rights Reserved.
60 Wellington Street West, Aurora, ON. L4G 3H2