Loading
Google Translate           
2017-2018 School Year Calendar
2017-2018 School Year Calendar
This will confirm that the 2017-2018 school year calendars as outlined below have received formal approval from the Ministry of Education as follows:
  • That the school year for those locations operating on a regular schedule shall consist of
    194 days with students commencing school on Tuesday, September 5, 2017 and include the following:
    • the designation of 187 Instructional Days commencing Tuesday, September 5, 2017 in the School Year Calendar 2017-2018;
    • the last school day for secondary students be Wednesday, June 27, 2018 and Thursday, June 28, 2018 for elementary students; and
    • the designation of seven Professional Activity Days in the School Year Calendar 2017- 2018
  • That Keswick High School, Sutton District High School, Maple High School and Markville Secondary School (Early Start Secondary Schools Calendar) operate on a modified version of the regular schedule commencing school one week earlier than other schools on Monday, August 28, 2017 and taking a one-week mid-term break commencing Monday, November 6, 2017 to Friday, November 10, 2017.
     
  • That Bill Crothers Secondary School (Balanced School Year Calendar) operate on a modified version of the regular schedule commencing school on Wednesday, August 9, 2017 and will have Friday, September 1, 2017, Friday, October 6, 2017, Friday, October 27, 2017, Monday, November 6, 2017 through to Friday, November 10, 2017, Friday, December 1, 2017, and Monday, April 23, 2018 to Friday, April 27, 2018 as holidays.

That the school holidays be as follows:

Labour Day Monday, September 4, 2017
Thanksgiving Day Monday, October 9, 2017
Christmas Vacation Monday, December 25, 2017 to Friday, January 5, 2018
Family Day Monday, February 19, 2018
Mid-Winter Break Monday, March 12, 2018 to Friday, March 16, 2018
Good Friday Friday, March 30, 2018
Easter Monday Monday, April 2, 2018
​Victoria Day ​Monday, May 21, 2018

 

That the Professional Activity Days for the 2017-2018 school year be as follows:

Secondary (Regular)

  1. Monday, September 25, 2017
  2. Friday, October 20, 2017
  3. Friday, November 24, 2017
  4. Friday, February 2, 2018
  5. Friday, May 4, 2018
  6. Thursday, June 28, 2018
  7. Friday, June 29, 2018

Secondary (Early Start Schools - Keswick, Markville, Maple, Sutton)

  1. Monday, September 25, 2017
  2. Friday, October 20, 2017
  3. Friday, November 24, 2017
  4. Friday, February 2, 2018
  5. Friday, May 4, 2018
  6. Thursday, June 28, 2018
  7. Friday, June 29, 2018

Secondary (Bill Crothers SS only)

  1. Tuesday, August 8, 2017
  2. Monday, September 25, 2017
  3. Friday, November 24, 2017
  4. Friday, January 19, 2018
  5. Friday, May 4, 2018
  6. Thursday, June 21, 2018
  7. Friday, June 22, 2018

Elementary (Regular)

  1. Monday, September 25, 2017
  2. Friday, October 20, 2017
  3. Friday, November 24, 2017
  4. Friday, January 19, 2018
  5. Friday, February 2, 2018
  6. Monday, June 4, 2018
  7. Friday, June 29, 2018 

 

 
Share |
Connect With YRDSB!
York Region District School Board Twitter Feed
York Region District School Board YouTube Channel
York Region District School Board Linkedin
YRDSB Mobile App
Privacy Policy / Copyright / Disclaimer

© York Region District School Board. All Rights Reserved.
60 Wellington Street West, Aurora, ON. L4G 3H2