WEDNESDAY SEPTEMBER. 25, 2019 6:30 – 7:50 PM

School Council Meeting Norms

*Begin and End meetings on time *Speak and listen to one another respectful *Recognize and value the diversity of opinions



DONALD COUSENS PUBLIC SCHOOL SCHOOL COUNCIL MEETING MINUTES

School Council Executives of 2018-2019

- Ritu Sharma, Chair
- Jennifer Lo, Treasurer
- -Secretary

Attendees

DCPS Staff: Tina Diavolitsis (Principal), Jared Yoshiki (Vice-Principal) **Parents**: Sanjana Dani, Romana Ambike, Akayla Balasubramaniam, Ritu Sharma, Jennifer Lo, Aminah Baig, Erfan Baig, Ada Chan, Yongjie Hu, Sana Khan, Mureen Ramanan

Welcome/Sign in/Review Minutes

Submit nomination forms for council candidate positions

Administrator's Report – Tina Diavolitsis, Principal

Jared Yoshiki, Vice Principal

- 1. Digital Presentation Mr. Yoshiki
 - YRDSB Multi-Year Strategic Plan
 - Student Councils will hold town halls to include representatives from each class
 - School Trustee Ron Lyn
 - Office Administration Team Ms. Rampartab, Ms. Lee and Ms. Agnihotri
 - School statistics at a glance 693 students, 39 teachers and 2 DECE, 3 EAs, 1 CYW, 3 Office Administrative staff, 4 caretakers, 1 Principal and 1 Vice Principal
 - WE Day students from the social justice club had the opportunity to participate in this event
 - EQAO results are available online DCPS continue to exceed YRDSB averages in literacy and math for grades 3 and 6
 - Communication from school to families through EDSBY and Twitter For messages of high importance a hard copy may be sent home with students and/or Principal will email parents. School Cash Online will continue to be used for school related payments. Blog no longer being used for communication.
 - Edsby Technical support will be offered on September 26th at the School Open House from 6 pm to 7 pm.
- 2. Announcements are held every day at 815 am, the announcements are also available in a spreadsheet format to be viewed on screens within the class rooms and designated areas of the school

- 3. School Council Executives the 2019 2020 School Council executive members were elected and are the following:
 - Co-Chairs: Ritu Sharma and Akayla Balasubramaniam
 - Treasurer: Jennifer Lo
 - Co-Secretaries: Sanjana Dani and Sana Khan
- 4. List of voting members to be compiled by council. Voting members will be contacted when a relevant decision is to be made and requires council consensus. Majority +1.

Upcoming School Council Meetings - 2019-2020:

- 1. Tuesday November 5, 2019
- 2. Tuesday January 14, 2020
- 3. Tuesday February 11, 2020
- 4. Tuesday April 7, 2020
- 5. Tuesday May 26, 2020

All meetings will be held from <u>630 pm to 8 pm</u>

Important Dates:

Thursday September 26, 2019 - School Open House -

• Two sessions 6 pm to 630 pm and 630 pm to 7 pm

Wednesday October 2, 2019 - Primary/Junior Gatherings (Assembly)

Thursday June 11, 2020 - Fun Fair