Google Translate           
College 412
College
Researching programs
 
 
Applying to an Ontario College
 
To apply to an Ontario College students will apply through  the Ontario College Application Service www.ontariocollege.ca.  
 
Step 1: Create Your Account:
  • Click:  “APPLY”…...”Sign Up” under “CREATE NEW ACCOUNT”
  • Click: “Sign Up” …..complete the form to set up your online account
  • Click: “I Agree to the Terms and Conditions” to create your account
        
Step 2:  Activate Your Account:
  • Retrieve the account activation email from the email address you provided.
  • Click on the link within the email to activate your account.
 
Step 3:  Log On and Complete “My Profile”:
  • Enter your username and password to enter your account.
  • Click “Get started with your College Application” – all sections of “My Profile” must be completed in order the first time.
  • Click “SAVE” to continue to the next step.
     
Step 4:  Apply to Programs
  • Click on the date you would like to start college (ie. September 2014)
  • Click on “Search for a Program” to select and add a program to your application
  • Click “Select” to add the program to your application – make sure to choose the correct start date for your program
  • You may choose FIVE programs (no more than THREE at any one college)
  • We have already submitted a transcript for you electronically.
Step 5:  Payment - you will need to arrange to pay the $95 fee online with a credit or debit card – print the Payment Summary for your records
 
Timelines (please visit www.ontariocolleges.ca for current year deadlines):
 
As soon as possible
Mid October
  • Grade 9, 10, 11 marks and grade 12 courses are electronically forwarded to OCAS for all possible college applicants
Beginning in November
  • Apply to college in the “APPLY” section of the www.ontariocolleges.ca website
  • Semester 1 midterm grade 12 marks are electronically forwarded to OCAS for all possible college applicants
February 1
  • Equal Consideration Date – application must be received by OCAS by midnight to be given equal consideration
  • Earliest date for the first release of admission decisions by the colleges. Colleges continue to offer admissions until programs are filled
After February 1st 
  • Students may still apply to college and make changes to their program choices online, BUT these are considered on a first come, first serve basis – except oversubscribed (will be full)
February
  • Semester 1 final marks forwarded electronically to OCAS
Late February
April
  • Semester 2 midterm marks forwarded electronically to OCAS
May 1
  • Applicants must confirm their acceptance to an offer of admission to their chosen college on www.ontariocolleges.ca.  After this date, colleges will determine the date the confirmation is due. 
Mid June
  • Earliest date that colleges require payment of tuition fees. 
July
  • Semester 2 final marks forwarded electronically to OCAS
 
 
***If you CHANGE HIGH SCHOOLS MID WAY THROUGH THE YEAR:
 
You must arrange for your new school to inform OCAS about the change of high school.  This will ensure that your academic data is sent to OCAS.
 
What transcript information do Ontario Colleges use to determine if you will get an offer to a program?
 
Basically, an Ontario College requires you meet all graduation requirements and individual program requirements.  Ontario Colleges do not require 6 U/M grade 12 courses.  Included in your 30 high school credits, Ontario Colleges will require a minimum of a grade 12 college level English and some programs may require specific grade 11 or 12 courses.  If you have a question about program requirements you should contact the Ontario College directing by calling or e-mailing their Admission Office.  This information is on each College website.
 
Additional Information and Resources
 
Alfred College - www.alfredc.uoguelph.ca
Algonquin College - www.algonquincollege.com
Boreal College - www.borealc.on.ca
Cambrian College - www.cambriancollege.ca
Canadore College - www.canadorec.on.ca
Centennial College - www.centenialcollege.ca
Conestoga College - www.conestogac.on.ca
Confederation College - www.confederationc.on.ca
Durham College - www.durhamcollege.ca
Fanshawe College - www.fanshawec.ca
Fleming College - www.flemingcollege.ca
George Brown College - www.georgebrown.ca
Georgian College - www.georgianc.on.ca
Humber College - www.humber.ca
Kemptville College - www.kemptvillec.uoguelph.ca
La Cite Collegiale - www.lacitecollegiale.com
Lambton College - www.lambton.on.ca
Loyalist College - www.loyalistcollege.com
Michener Institute - www.michener.ca
Mohawk College - www.mohawkcollege.ca
Niagara College - www.niagaracollege.ca
Northern College - www.northernc.on.ca
Ridgetown College - www.ridgetownc.uoguelph.ca
St. Clair College - www.stclaircollege.ca
St. Lawrence College - www.stlawrencecollege.ca
Sault College - www.saultcollege.ca
Seneca College - www.senecac.on.ca
Sheridan College - www.sheridaninstitute.ca
 
Ontario College Information Fair @ the Direct Energy Centre, Exhibition Place
 
Share |
Connect With YRDSB!
York Region District School Board Twitter Feed
York Region District School Board YouTube Channel
York Region District School Board Linkedin
YRDSB Mobile App
Privacy Policy / Copyright / Disclaimer

© York Region District School Board. All Rights Reserved.
60 Wellington Street West, Aurora, ON. L4G 3H2