Google Translate           
Community Involvement 303
Community Involvement

As part of the diploma requirements, students must complete a minimum of 40 hours of community involvement activities during their secondary school years. Accumulation of community involvement hours may begin the summer after grade 8.

Community Involvement forms are available in the guidance office.

button (1).png
button (2).png

  

 Suggestions for Community Involvement Hours
COMMUNITY INVOLVEMENT
SEARCH ENGINES:
Community Information and Volunteer Centre - York Region: www.yorkinfo.ca
Town of Richmond Hill - 905-884-0855 ext.227 or www.volunteers@richmondhill.ca
ORGANIZATIONS:
Five with D.R.I.V.E - 73 Dickson Hill Road, Markham, ON – www.5wd.ca
Bloorview Kids Rehab (Must be 16 years or older) – 416-422-7031 or http://www.hollandbloorview.ca/Home
Canadian Cancer Society in Richmond Hill - 905-709-4978 or www.cancer.ca
Canadian Red Cross in Richmond Hill - 905-830-9565 or http://www.redcross.ca/where-we-work/in-canada/ontario
Canadian Spinal Research Organization in Richmond Hill - 905-508-4000 or http://www.csro.com/
CDG (Children’s Development Group) for Autistic Teens in Richmond Hill – 905-237-6717 or www.cdgcentre.com
          (They are looking for motivated male students to be peer mentors for male autistic teens.)
David Dunlap Observatory in Richmond Hill – 905-883-0174 or www.theddo.ca
Elementary Schools – Contact your elementary school teachers to see if they can use a volunteer.
Epilepsy York Region in Richmond Hill – 905-508-5404 or  www.epilepsyyork.org
Good Shepherd – (Food Bank) 905-572-6435 or volunteer@goodshepherd.ca
Habitat for Humanity – York Region – 905-868-8722 or volunteer@habitatyork.ca or www.habitat.ca
Heart and Stroke in Richmond Hill – 905-709-4899 or www.heartandstroke.ca
Immigrant Youth Centre - Natalia Kola (905) 294-8868 Ext. 207 or natalia.kola@cicscanada.com This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it or www.cicsiyc.org
K9 Klub Richmond Hill - www.rhk9klub.ca (Taking care of dogs)
McMichael Art Gallery – 905-893-1121 ext. 2269 or volunteer@mcmichael.com (Join the Youth Volunteer Team)
Religious Organizations or Places of Worship - often do community work and need volunteers.
Richmond Hill Christian Community Church - 905-884-3399 or mailbox@rhccc.ca
Richmond Hill Soccer Club - 905-883-4990 ext.113 or barb@richmondhillsoccer.com
ROM – Royal Ontario Museum – Toronto - info@rom.on.ca
Salvation Army in Richmond Hill, (905) 737-0496 or (905) 737-7164 / http://www.salvationarmy.ca/
Senior and or Nursing Homes – often need volunteers to be with the seniors.
     For example, Mon Sheong Foundation in Richmond Hill, 905-883-9288 they are looking for Chinese speakers.
St. John Ambulance in Richmond Hill - 905-773-3394 or Kevin Gray - 416-876-6243 / email kgray@on.sja.ca
Varley Art Gallery in Unionville – Francesca Dauphinais 905-477-9511 ext. 3264 or fdauphinais@markham.ca

 

 

 

 

 

 
Share |
Connect With YRDSB!
York Region District School Board Twitter Feed
York Region District School Board YouTube Channel
York Region District School Board Linkedin
YRDSB Mobile App
Privacy Policy / Copyright / Disclaimer

© York Region District School Board. All Rights Reserved.
60 Wellington Street West, Aurora, ON. L4G 3H2